Qulliq Energy Corporation announces board appointments

IQALUIT, Nunavut (May 26, 2020) – Qulliq Energy Corporation (QEC) announced today that Cabinet has approved the appointments of Sheena Akoomalik, Okalik Eegeesiak, and Marvin Dion to the corporation’s Board of Directors. Nicole Jauvin has been reappointed to the board by Cabinet for another three-year term.

Additionally, Cabinet has approved the appointments of Keith Peterson as chairperson and Andrew Nakashuk as vice-chairperson. Both members were appointed to the board in August 2019 for three year terms. Andrew Nakashuk resumes the role of vice-chairperson after Keith Peterson served in the position.

“I would like to thank outgoing board members Simeonie Akpalialuk and Kimberly Fairman for their valuable contributions to strong governance and leadership during their terms with QEC’s Board of Directors,” said the Honourable Jeannie Ehaloak, Minister responsible for QEC. “I am confident the new nine-member team collectively possesses the complementary professional and cultural competencies required to lead QEC forward strategically, to the benefit of all Nunavummiut.”

Simeonie Akpalialuk, appointed to the board in May 2017, assumed the duties of chairperson in May 2019 after serving as vice-chairperson since May 2018. Kimberly Fairman was appointed in May 2017 for a term of three years. The new appointments support the corporation’s continued efforts to increase Nunavut Inuit and regional representation, and expand gender diversity on the Board of Directors.  


Media Contact:
Renee Boucher
Acting Manager, Corporate Communications
Qulliq Energy Corporation
(867) 979-7524



Qulliq Energy Corporation (QEC) is a territorial corporation mandated to supply electricity to communities in Nunavut. QEC is wholly owned by the Government of Nunavut, and operates at arm’s length, reporting to the Minister responsible for QEC. The corporation is the only generator and distributor of electrical energy in Nunavut, operating 25 stand-alone diesel power plants in 25 communities.

Under the Qulliq Energy Corporation Act, the chairperson and vice-chairperson of the board shall be designated by the Minister, from among the directors. The Board of Directors are appointed by the Minister for a term not exceeding three years, and the board shall be composed of not fewer than six directors and no more than ten directors.

Sheena Akoomalik

Sheena Akoomalik has over 15 years of experience with the Government of Nunavut’s Community and Government Services. Working primarily in the Petroleum Products Division, she has extensive, first-hand experience with the fuel systems that power the territory. Most recently, she has served as the elected member of the District Education Authority in her community of Pond Inlet.

An award-winning theatre artist, Ms. Akoomalik is the founder and manager of the Tununiq-muit Theatre group and has presented cultural performances to tourists from around the world. With a broad understanding of Inuit traditions, culture and language, Ms Akoomalik brings strong community-focused skills to the corporation’s Board of Directors.

Okalik Eegeesiak

Okalik Eegeesiak possesses in-depth knowledge and understanding of the Inuit Land Claim agreements within Canada and internationally. Most recently, she served as the Chair of the Inuit Circumpolar Council and, prior to that, as President of the Qikiqtani Inuit Association. During her career, Ms. Eegeesiak has held key positions with Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami (ITK), Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated (NTI), and the Government of Nunavut’s Human Resources department. She currently resides in Iqaluit.

A past and present member of many volunteer organizations and boards, she is currently a member of the Arctic Children and Youth Foundation, Inuit Communications Systems, and serves as the International Chair of the Pikialasorsuaq Commission. A bilingual Inuk with sound sensitivity to cultural differences, Ms. Eegeesiak is the president of Makibi Consulting in Iqaluit.

Marvin Dion

With 40 years of experience as a power plant operator and superintendent in both Nunavut and the Northwest Territories, Marvin Dion, brings a well-developed understanding of power generation to QEC’s Board of Directors. Currently, he works as a foreman with Sarliaq Holdings in Rankin Inlet.

Mr. Dion was previously elected as mayor of Coral Harbor and subsequently served a term as deputy mayor. Over the years, he has also been involved with many Keewatin and Kivalliq regional boards and is a supporter of many community groups.  

Keith Peterson

Mr. Keith Peterson is a former cabinet minister in the Government of Nunavut and a Member of Legislative Assembly (MLA) representing Cambridge Bay. He was responsible for the portfolios of Finance, Justice, and Health and also served as the Minister responsible for QEC. Mr. Peterson was the Mayor of Cambridge Bay for two-terms, and has held various positions with other public and private sector boards. He has considerable experience in leading government departments, territorial corporations, board governance and community relations. His home is in Cambridge Bay.

Andrew Nakashuk

Andrew Nakashuk has been an active member of committees, organizations and boards for many years within Pangnirtung, the Baffin region, and across Nunavut. He is currently chairperson on the Nunavut Planning Commission, facilitating community consultations and planning meetings. Mr. Nakashuk has extensive experience with the land serving as conservation and fishery officer, bear monitor, and interpretive guide. He has completed training in response to environmental emergencies, search and rescue management training, and various courses through the RCMP. Mr. Nakashuk resides in Pangnirtung.

Nicole Jauvin

Nicole Jauvin retired as Deputy Minister of the Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency in 2011. She has worked extensively with government, communities and individuals to further economic development in the North and has travelled across Nunavut. She is a board member of Gwich’in Development Corporation in Inuvik, Research Institute of the Children’s Hospital for Eastern Ontario, and Five Lakes Club in Quebec. Ms. Jauvin holds a graduate diploma of laws, LL.L. Magna cum Laude, diploma in International Cooperation, and Bachelor of Arts in Communications from the University of Ottawa. She was a member of the Quebec Bar and currently resides in Ottawa.